Tag Archives: champion liga

Champions T20 League tournament backs to India

Pakistan side Faisalabad Wolves is also taking part in the tournament.Trinidad & Tobago has been given direct entry into the tournament.

Champions T20 League will be played in India from September 17 to October 6. This has been announced by BCCI President N Srinivasan. N Srinivasan is also chairman of the Champions T20 League. India is going to host the tournament third time.

Champions T20 League is a tournament where winners of T20 leagues from around the world participate to prove their supremacy .This time 29 matches will be played and USD 6 million will be the prize money.

The venues for the Champions T20 league will be announced at the end of the Indian T20 League.

Trinidad & Tobago has been given direct entry into the tournament based on their performance in 2011 and 2012. Trinidad & Tobago played qualifier in 2011 and 2012 and was runner up in 2009.

Pakistan side Faisalabad Wolves is also taking part in the tournament.

There will not be any team from England due to unavailability.

“The CLT20 will return to India this year. It will be the third time India will host the tournament in five years, after 2009 and 2011. The competition, which will again feature leading cricketers from across the world and some of the established legends of world cricket, will be watched and followed by equally passionate fans,” N Srinivasan, Chairman of the league, said.
Teams in Group A:

  • Champions of the Indian T20 League
  • Highveld Lions from South Africa,
  • Perth Scorchers from Australia,
  • Third ranked Indian T20 League team and the top team in the qualifier.

Teams in Group B:

  • The runners-up of the Indian T20 League,
  • ┬áNashua Titans from South Africa,
  • Brisbane Heat from Australia,
  • Trinidad & Tobago and the second placed team in the qualifier.

Teams in the qualifiers:

  • Fourth ranked Indian T20 League team,
  • Otago Volts from New Zealand,
  • Champions from Sri Lanka
  • Champions from Pakistan.

Champions League Twenty20 was started in 2008 but due to Mumbai terror attack tournament has been cancelled. Formally tournament has been played in 2009 for the first time. It is jointly owned by the BCCI, Cricket Australia and Cricket South Africa.

New South Wales Blues, Chennai Super Kings, Mumbai Indians and Sydney Sixers were the winners of previous tournaments.