Tag Archives: ipl2013news

Brutal Chris Gayle savages Kolkata Knight Riders

West Indian Chris Gayle single handedly demolished KKR with his brilliant knock of 85 runs on 50-ball.

Royal challengers Bangalore defeated Kolkata Knight Riders by eight-wicket .This victory has moved RCB to No 1 place in Pepsi Indian Premier League. RCB has 6 points and won 3 matches out of 4 matches they played.


Match was played at M Chinnaswamy Stadium. West Indian Chris Gayle single handedly demolished KKR with his brilliant knock of 85 runs on 50-ball. Chris Gayle scored his fifty in just 32 balls.


RCB have won the toss and elected to bowl first. Virat Kohli’s bowlers proved him right when RP Singh crushed KKR with his bowling attack.KKR batting collapsed easily and no one could face the lethal attack of RCB bowlers. Only captain Gautam Gambhir poses some threat to RCB bowlers but it could not stop the collapse of KKR bating.

Gambhir Scored his 17th fifty in this match.Gambhir scored 59 .Gambhir and Kallis tried to build partnership but it could not be sustained by other KKR batsmen as they were savaged by RCB bowling attack.

At one point KKR score was 113 for 3 in 15 overs.But KKR lost 5 wickets and managed 41 runs. Manoj Tiwari dropped a catch of de Villiers when he was on 7.This was a fatal mistake for KKR. de Villiers partnered with Gayle to win the match.

Gambhir and Kohli lost temper and there was altercation.They have been warned.

Gautam Gambhir is hopeful that his team will recover later on. Gautam Gambhir said “We will have plans and we need to stick to those. If plan A doesn’t work then Plan B will work. But sometimes none of your plans works because Gayle is a quality player. I think all the bowlers did a good job at the start,” he told reporters at the post-match press conference.

Kolkata: Manvinder Bisla(w), Gautam Gambhir(c), Jacques Kallis, Manoj Tiwary, Yusuf Pathan, Eoin Morgan, Ryan McLaren, Rajat Bhatia, Pradeep Sangwan, Sunil Narine, Lakshmipathy Balaji

Bangalore: Mayank Agarwal, Chris Gayle, Virat Kohli(c), AB de Villiers, Moises Henriques, Lokesh Rahul, Arun Karthik(w), Vinay Kumar, Jaidev Unadkat, RP Singh, Muttiah Muralitharan



Kolkata Knight Riders: Manvinder Bisla c Rahul b Henriques 1 (5b), Gautam Gambhir c & b Vinay 59 (46b, 7×4, 1×6), Jacques Kallis c Henriques b Vinay 16 (19b, 2×4), Yusuf Pathan c Vinay b Henriques 27 (17b, 3×4, 1×6), Manoj Tiwary c de Villiers b R.P. Singh 23 (16b, 2×4), Eoin Morgan c (sub) Christian b R.P. Singh 2 (5b), Rajat Bhatia b R.P. Singh 13 (7b, 2×4), Ryan McLaren (run out) 2 (3b), Pradeep Sangwan (not out) 4 (2b, 1×4), Sunil Narine (not out) 1 (1b); Extras (lb-3, nb-1, w-2): 6. Total (for eight wkts., in 20 overs): 154.

Fall of wickets: 1-3 (Bisla), 2-54 (Kallis), 3-95 (Yusuf), 4-124 (Gambhir), 5-132 (Morgan), 6-135 (Tiwary), 7-149 (McLaren), 8-149 (Bhatia).

Royal Challengers Bangalore bowling: Henriques 4-0-24-2, R.P. Singh 4-0-27-3, Unadkat 4-0-34-0, Muralitharan 4-0-30-0, Vinay 4-0-36-2.

Royal Challengers Bangalore: Chris Gayle (not out) 85 (50b, 4×4, 9×6), Mayank Agarwal c Bisla b McLaren 6 (8b, 1×4), Virat Kohli c Morgan b Balaji 35 (27b, 4×4, 2×6), AB de Villiers (not out) 22 (22b, 2×4, 1×6); Extras (nb-2, w-8): 10. Total (for two wkts., in 17.3 overs): 158.

Fall of wickets: 1-12 (Agarwal), 2-75 (Kohli).

Kolkata Knight Riders bowling: McLaren 3-0-34-1, Kallis 4-1-30-0, Narine 4-0-17-0, Balaji 3.3-0-33-1, Sangwan 2-0-34-0, Bhatia 1-0-10-0.

Man-of-the-match: Chris Gayle.