Tag Archives: Parliament

Government has finalized list of 6 nominees for Rajya Sabha as per reports

According to reports from various sources, The Bhartiya Janta Party is going to nominate Navjot Singh Siddhu, Subramanian Swamy, Swapan Dasgupta,MC Mary Kom and Suresh Gopi and Narendra Jadhav for Rajya Sabha.
The Rajya Sabha or Council of States is the upper house of the Parliament of India.Total strength of the Rajya Sabha is 245.Members are elected indirectly by state and territorial legislatures.
The BJP has 48 members in the upper house while the Congress has 66.
At present the Congress has 67 members, the BJP 48, the Samajwadi Party 15, the AIADMK, the Trinamool Congress and the JD(U) 12 each, the BSP 10 and the CPI(M) 9.
74 Rajya Sabha members are retiring in 2016 including union ministers Nirmala Sitharaman ,M Venkaiah Naidu,Piyush Goyal and Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi.
Government can appoint 12 members.