Tag Archives: Rajya Sabha

Vijay Mallya’s trick to avoid expulsion failed. Resignation rejected by Hamid Ansari and Ethics panel of Rajya Sabha

Rajya Sabha Chairman Hamid Ansari has turned down resignation of Vijay Mallya on procedural ground.

Raya Sabha ethics committee has also rejected Vijay Mallya’s resignation. This has paved the way for his expulsion from the Upper house.

“Hamid Ansari, Chairman, Rajya Sabha does not accept the resignation of Vijay Mallya. Secretary General, Rajya Sabha writes to Sh. Mallya that his resignation letter does not conform to prescribed procedures & does not bear signature in original.

“As per Rule 213 of RS procedures, the resignation must be voluntary and genuine,” Ansari’s Officer on Special Duty to Gurdeep Singh Sappal said on Twitter quoting from the Secretary General’s letter.

Vijya Mallya has sent a scanned copy of his resignation letter to Hamid Ansari just a day before the Ethics panel was going to recommend his expulsion.


Government has finalized list of 6 nominees for Rajya Sabha as per reports

According to reports from various sources, The Bhartiya Janta Party is going to nominate Navjot Singh Siddhu, Subramanian Swamy, Swapan Dasgupta,MC Mary Kom and Suresh Gopi and Narendra Jadhav for Rajya Sabha.
The Rajya Sabha or Council of States is the upper house of the Parliament of India.Total strength of the Rajya Sabha is 245.Members are elected indirectly by state and territorial legislatures.
The BJP has 48 members in the upper house while the Congress has 66.
At present the Congress has 67 members, the BJP 48, the Samajwadi Party 15, the AIADMK, the Trinamool Congress and the JD(U) 12 each, the BSP 10 and the CPI(M) 9.
74 Rajya Sabha members are retiring in 2016 including union ministers Nirmala Sitharaman ,M Venkaiah Naidu,Piyush Goyal and Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi.
Government can appoint 12 members.